Welcome to my blog!

I’m excited to start this “On Island Time” blog!   I look forward to hearing your comments about the book and your responses to my blog posts.  I’d  love to have an ongoing conversation with YOU!

Right now I’m on Madeline Island and I’ll try to post almost every day.  When I’m at home in Minneapolis and back at work, you probably won’t hear from me as often.

Since we arrived here, I’ve been marveling once again at the constantly changing character of Lake Superior.  For the first couple of days the lake was calm and smooth as glass.  It welcomed waders and boaters, (though sailboaters would disagree).

Then yesterday the wild side of Superior appeared.   Four-foot waves roared into shore whipping up whitecaps and scaring off all but the most intrepid boaters.  We watched a sailboat out in front of our house struggling to master the winds.  They managed to stay in control of their boat, but it didn’t look easy.

I’m reminded again of the power of the lake and the statement made by the wise old fisherman, Julian Nelson, who said, “The lake is the boss.  Make no mistake, the lake is the boss.”

Some of our adventures with the Lake are contained in “On Island Time”  in the chapter titled with Julian’s quote, “The Lake is the Boss.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Pat's Posts

Leave a comment